Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,865 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, hope everyone is safe and healthy!
So I noticed a coolant leak when I was taking the Mustang to the grocery store to keep the battery charged and run the engine a little since I don't drive her very much anymore. Noticed a coolant leak as I was coming out so once I got home, tried to look for the leak but it was difficult to locate. Could have been from water pump which was replaced 6-8 months ago. Order the coolant dye and the glass/flashlight to really locate the leak. It looks like it's coming from the timing cover so it's a little more complicated than I was hoping it to be since I've never done timing cover/chain before. So since I'm taking everything off to replace the gaskets, I was thinking I should replace the timing chain and sprockets. Don't know when or how many miles is on the current chain. Engine is a little tired but still runs well enough. So my questions are and may have more:

1: I believe the stock chain/sprocket is a single, do I need to stick with a single or can I go with a double roller timing chain/sprocket?
2: Since I don't need to replace the water pump, do I just remove the longer bolts that goes through the cover to the block and keep the pump attached to the cover?
3: How do I know if I need to replace the damper while I have it out?
4: So I see videos where it says to have the timing at TDC before taking the cover off. If it reads 0 on the damper, I could still be on the the exhaust stroke and not compression stroke? So I should remove the #1 and if it pushes air out when it's moving to 0, then I'm on the compression stroke?

Appreciate any help!
Thanks

·
Registered
10,752 Posts
You can go double roller
if your doing the chain take all the bolts out
is the rubber all dried and cracked ?