Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Newbie here,
I just bought (last Fall) a 1966 Mustang sedan with a 200 cu inch 6 Cyl motor.
The carb that's on it is a Weber 15709.
My buddy, who is more tech-savvy than I am, keeps saying that this is the wrong carb, too big and that the correct carb would let it idle better.
Any thoughts on this??? Thanx!!!! JP

·
Registered
34,155 Posts
How about some pix? IIRC, way back when, Weber did offer rebuilt Autolite 1100's. Also could use a pix of your distributor guts, from the top, with the cap and rotor removed. This will tell us if it has the "Load-O-Matic" distributor which requires a matching carburetor with SCV (Spark Control Valve).

·
Registered
288 Posts
The pretty pics are from a restored 1966 Sprint 200 (I think @NEFaurora posted these a few years ago). I think these are Autolite 1100's.

The not so pretty pics are mine, which is a Holley 1940.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
The Original carb to a 1965-1966 Mustang 6 cylinder engine would be a "NON-IMCO" (Non Emissions)...closed system, SCV (Spark Control Valve) Autolite 1100 1v (1 Venturi) carb. It would be the last two pics shown above on the "Restored" Sprint 200 engine.

Yes, You'll have to post some pics of your Carb setup and your distributor before we can diagnose any further..

:eek:)

Tony K.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Sorry for the delay; I was away for a wedding and have been sick since. Here's too many views of the carb and one of the distributor.
Thanx!!!!!

Attachments

·
Registered
34,155 Posts