Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm sure this subject has been covered to death but I'm a newbie so forgive me ...
Here in Ireland it is impossible to find a shop that has a clue about setting a mustang front end. I have given hours and hours trying correct it myself but with not much luck, other than a wonderful education in how it's put together. I found a kit on the Mustangsplus site that eliminates the camber bolts so that's that end taken care of hopefully. The real problem is the correct toe setting. I have read several different versions of what it should be, and all of them in inches ie 1/8" toed in, 1/32 toed out, etc!!
Then to add to that, the guys in the shop here want the toe settings in degrees! What's a man to do? :deadhorse:

·
Premium Member
3,428 Posts
Tell us a little about the car and any mods you've done to it. It will help us figure what you might need.

Think about the toe this way, if you have a stock tire (lets say 68) the oem diameter was about 26 inches. Take half of that for 13 inchs. A 1/4 inch toe in is 1/8 inch per side. Draw a straight line 13 inchs long. Make a mark 1/8 up from the end and connect that mark to the beginning of the other line and you now have an angle that can be measured in degrees with either a handy math program or angle finding device. (or as an approximation, as the angle approaches 0.000 the angle's value is height/distance or or -.125/13 or -.10 degree)

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
Inches to degrees....
0 total toe = 0 per side = 0* per side
1/16" total toe = 1/32" per side = .14* per side
1/8" total toe = 1/16" per side = .28* per side
3/16" total toe = 3/32" per side = .41* per side
1/4" total toe = 1/8" per side = .55* per side

1/8" total toe-in is a good starting point for most stock or mild street cars.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #4