Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally am getting back to working on my 68 coupe.It has been sitting for a few months with the cowl top off and the rotted hat cut out waiting for the cowl patch welded in.I finally welded patch in the other night.I borrowed the spot welder from work and used it around the outside edge.That worked great plus don't have to grind any weld after it.The patches don't fit worth a crap on the 67 or 68 so had to make it fit with a hammer.Dont laugh,I am a machinist not a welder but am getting better.The passenger side only has a few pin holes in it and figure its to thin to try welding on and a Body shop friend of mine suggested just a layer of fiberglass with epoxy primer and paint will seal it up for good so I think I am going that route on the passenger side.Going to lightly grind my weld down to take the roughness off and fiberglass the other side and epoxy prime then seam sealer then epoxy prime another coat then Paint.Next problem I have is the guy I got the car from tried to seal the cowl by cutting a big hole in the upper cowl to get into the inner and tared it.I was trying to patch it but don't think it is going to turn out and cant really afford to buy a new cowl top.Anyone know where I could get a doner for a patch or how to patch this.I put a pic of it here also.Also any tricks to welding the cowl top back on.Looks like the 3/8 hole left by the spot weld drill wont be easy to weld in and grind off.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts