Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In researching my guage problem, I ran across the article below on making a solid state constant voltage regulator:
http://www.turbotbird.com/techinfo/ivr/Default.htm
Does this make sense/seem like it should work? I'm just a mechanical engineer, who didn't do well in circuits 20 years ago, so any comments would be appreciated.

Carl

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
Yes, it does make sense. Its not too difficult to do and someone spent some time thinking this out...I earmarked the site to copy and build one for mine...

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought the voltage regulator from Radio Shack (still stocked), but the 270 ohm resistor is no longer available. I'll look for another source.
After bench testing, the old CVR is good, the new CVR is bad (12v across correct terminals, no cyclic output, unlike the old CVR). Old CVR back in the dash got me my water guage back, meaning the old CVR isn't the problem.
Now I have to see if I can find an old CVR that I can butcher to try the solid state version out.

·
Registered
3,628 Posts
circuit will work fine but his claim that a breadbox size unit was needed in the '60s is bull. Zener diodes were available and used by military equipment designers but few industrial engrs were aware of them or felt they were too expensive at $2 or so a piece. new VRs are only $26 or so from my Virginia Classic Mustang catalogue and unless you like to solder why not buy new one?

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
You can always put two resistors in a series to get the desired resistance. A 100 with a 170 ohm or any combination would work :)

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
Wouldn't a zener with a resistor on its tail generate a lot of heat thru the resistor?

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #7