Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Im no expert on cars, so i wanted to get your thoughts on which car should consider more.
I am from Europe, the prices are higher for Mustangs because of the import prices/taxes.

At the moment i have 2 choices
69 Fastback 302 cui automatic transmision. for about ~38k
or
70 Fastback 4 speed manual 351 cci for about the same pricing at the end. because of the transport costs.

My preferences are slightly on 69 for the looks. But for 70 the transmision and interior.
So overal wanted to know for your suggestions.

69:
70:

Will be thankfull for any information you can give me on these.

·
Dimples
4,658 Posts
It ultimately comes down to your preference (I too prefer the 69 body details), but that 70 looks like a better, cleaner car in general. Plus, 4 speed is better.

·
Premium Member
11,784 Posts
The '69 headlights and taillights look much better than the '70 headlights and taillights. If I owned a '70 I would convert the headlights and taillights to the '69 style. In my book the '69 Mach 1 is the best looking Mustang until the S550 came out in 2015.

The '70 has Mach 1 emblems but it is NOT a Mach 1.

·
Premium Member
3,022 Posts
LOL, I hate the four eyed look of the 69. 70 is my favorite.

·
Premium Member
878 Posts
It's funny how we all have our own tastes....I too favor the '69. In fact I toy with the idea of changing out the grille on my 2007 and putting the fog lights in there, similar to the '67 Shelby. I also like the exterior color of that '69...but the interior would need to go. You can always put a bigger engine and a man pedal in the '69 :cool:.

·
Premium Member
11,784 Posts
There was a poll here a few years ago asking the specific question- '69 or '70? '69 won by a huge margin. And it was decided that the '69 M1 was the best looking Vintage Mustang. But I may be biased.
Me and 1969 Mach 1.jpg

·
Registered
776 Posts