Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
Quick Preface to me: I'm new to this board and just bought a '65 Mustang Fastback (117k miles, cost me $7k), drum brakes on it currently. First Mustang I've purchased and first car planning to really start working on as my 2000 Cougar is my daily work driver.

I've been reading around about the conversions to disc brakes, I've seen several articles detailing the "Granada" brake swap. As to the fact I'm fairly new at this (I have a roommate that has done some car work before and does all his maintenance, just a lazy sob) and the money isn't the hugest factor in the world (it obviously is a factor as I'm not made of money). I'd like to end up with a really nice braking system on the car that will work with the original rims (as I think they look the best on the cars) and will work later on if I decide to upgrade engines so they'll have enough power to help stop the car ;P

So I was thinking along the lines of a convesion kit instead of the "Granada Swap" as that involves alot more hunting around and I unfortunately don't know of a salvage yard around here yet.

So what kit and from where can you order it would you recommend to give really good performance / stock compatibility for the money?

Should I go 4-wheel disc brakes or just do the front? Is it worth the time / money to do all 4?

Will changing to disc brakes harm the resale value much at all or increase the resale value?

Any estimates on how long the swap will take with 2 people working on it?

Thanks, I hope these message boards are as helpful as the cougar ones have been for pointing out the tons of problems I've had with that hunk of [censored], for the right price the cougar is for sale ;)

'00 Mercury Cougar - Hunk of Sh*t (Anyone wanna buy it? come on you know you want to)

'65 Mustang Fastback (my first Muscle Car, give me some slack I'm 19 and dumb enough to try to get into fixing up an old car)

·
Registered