Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just pondering doing a disc brake swap on my '70. Nothing for sure at all, as I'm sure there are better ways to spend my money right now. Anyways, I did some searches, but couldn't come up with much, since I'm not very good at using the search feature here. What I want to know is:
What all is required to do the swap?
I found this on ehay, item #2428570387. It's relatively nearby, and at what I think is a decent price. If I got this, what else would I need? And is it at a good price?
If all that would be too much work, what kit would fit me? I think Baer is out of my price range. I seem to pick up that SSBC is good quality, good price stuff. I think this would be the kit I wanted, right?
http://www.stainlesssteelbrakes.com/products/detail/432/?make=Ford&model=Mustang&year=1970
I think I saw somewhere that Wilwood kits aren't "street legal". Is this true? I don't want to do anything "bad".
I only have about $1000 in the bank right now, so I do have a limited budget. I just feel like I need to do something to my car, sort of to celebrate the end of summer. Not that I'm celebrating the end of summer, but just sort of like a present. Pay no attention to me, I tend to ramble. So anyways, what do you guys think?

·
Registered
342 Posts
I just ordered mine from mustangsunlimited.com
Was 950.00. they have a slightly less expensive setup, but I opted for the slotted rotors

·
Registered
952 Posts
You have several options available to you. But as far as the Wilwoods "street legal" as I understand it none of the kits are "street legal". Wilwoods lawyers make them put the disclaimer on them so they can't be sued. I am running them on the front and am very happy with them.