Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
916 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan on rebuilding my suspension all the way around soon. All the master kits I see in the catalogs include upper and lower control arms. However this seems to drive the price up and I am wondering if I even need to install new control arms? If not, can I get these kits anywhere that don't include them? TIA

G

·
0 Posts
I just got done with my daughters 66 coupe .I think from that little project that i would surely go with the new upper and lower control arms ! I did and i am very pleased with the end results. what a differance !! It doesnt add that much to the job realy to do it all . i got my master rebuild kit from laurel mountain and was pleased with there service and quality !

·
Registered
3,824 Posts
I do know that lower control arms are available as a complete unit only. Apparently due to wear issues, they do not sell only the lower control arm ball joint like they do the upper one.

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
I inspected my upper control arms on my 65 coupe and they seem straight, a prerequisite. My uppers also have the bolt on ball joints. I can save close to $100 on the suspension kit by re-using my uppers and re-building them. They should not be terribly difficult with a little time. Plus we have a big vise and serious tools to remove/replace the pivot shaft and bushing. I'll use the $100 elsewhere on the project. If I had extra money though, I'd replace the uppers rather than rebuild them though. Lowers come as a complete unit. I'm getting my stuff from Laurel Mtn. Mustang. Good Luck.

G

·
0 Posts
I would replace everything. This is a safty issue more than anything.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
I would rebuild the uppers. The originals arms are of superior quality than the repros. Also to make them last longer see MustangSteve's advice:

Upper A-Frame Bushing Rebuild