Vintage Mustang Forums banner

Do tail lights exist that....

2K views 29 replies 15 participants last post by  Billet-Brain 
#1 ·
I need new tail lights for my 65 coupe, but want something a bit different. Does anyone make a set where the centre 'stripe' of each light is a clear reversing light?

#6 ·
You could convert the tail light bucket to three bulbs with two baffles to create three chambers, then get someone with a 3D printer to run off a clear center lens.

#8 ·
you could modify the metal trim. cut the 2 centers out. have 4 clear or white led inserts made. drill a tiny hole in the bottom of the red lens behind each backup light. put a water proof connector on the bottom of the tail light housing to plug the leds into. I designed a setup like this long ago. problem was it cost a fortune to get 4 led lights made.

#10 ·
I'd put that money into making it go faster! I don't even have reverse lights! Seriously, and I'm an expert from watching the real Top Gear, none of that blingy crap would ever pass on your side of the pond anyway.

#12 ·
I get what you're trying to do, and I think it's a cool idea. An LED board would make things a lot easier than modifying the lamp buckets... well, easier for me anyway. I do that kind of stuff for fun. The lenses would be the challenging part. You could maybe 3D print clear or at least translucent lens sections, but getting them spliced in, sealed up so they won't leak water into the tail lights, and looking decent would be a challenge. The devil is in the details. So, not easy, but do-able I'd think.

Just random thoughts, ignore me... it's late.

#13 ·
Not sounding easy then. Those ideas are pretty much what I was thinking, I just hoped someone already made one. Its not illegal to have the clear reverse lamps integral to the main light cluster over here. You can buy aftermarket lights for the Fast n Furious lot, that are completely clear, with coloured bulbs.