Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i am doing the one piece floor pan...so I decided since it comes with the torque box covers I might as well replace them will I am at it. I pop them off today and Whata you know the whole bottom of the drivers side torque box is rusted out ... great so I start tapping it with a hammer I realize so is the frame rail right about where the springs bolt up rusted with a nice crack in it...anyway do you guys think I should replace the rear torque box which is surprisingly pricey ($200) or just cut out those two pieces and patch it? I am no expert at welding at all and truthfully don’t think I’ll be able to do that rear torque box any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
351 Posts
Two options, learn to weld or pay someone. You should easily be able to find a local welder who can come over and fix you up. Given that you have a one piece pan how where you figuring to weld that in?

·
Registered
4,854 Posts
Better check the frame rail, it’s often bad for a few inches as well.

I would replace the box. It isn’t to bad if you have basic welding skills. I was a relative beginner and managed just fine.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Two options, learn to weld or pay someone. You should easily be able to find a local welder who can come over and fix you up. Given that you have a one piece pan how where you figuring to weld that in?
plug welds I could do for the one piece pan but welding in a patch and making it look good that’s another story

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Better check the frame rail, it’s often bad for a few inches as well.

I would replace the box. It isn’t to bad if you have basic welding skills. I was a relative beginner and managed just fine.
what did you do the whole frame rail? Or buy just the rear torque box? they sell for about the same price.

·
Registered
4,854 Posts