Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Need suggestions about what might be making tapping/knocking noise behind water pump area on 1965 Ford 6 cyl. I thought it was water pump - wasn't. Doesn't seem to be coming from pan area - just behind and under water pump. There is a build up of rust in the water jackets but not sure what sound is. Really would appreciate some suggestions of what I can check. I am no expert but can check a few things. Otherwise engine runs ok. Engine is not the smoothest I have seen nor very powerful. Please post back to the thread or even email me if you'd like at [email protected] Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,121 Posts
I never worked on one but maybe it's the timing gear/chain that's making the noise.

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
I HAVE A '65 WITH A 302 THAT JUST STARTED DOING THE SAME THING. NOT SURE EITHER WHAT IT COULD BE. IF YOU FIND OUT LET ME KNOW...GOOD LUCK!!

·
Registered
2,523 Posts
It could be several things:

1) Exhaust leak. Check all of your exhaust bolts, they may have loosen up over time.

2) If you have adjustable rockers (you shouldn't if the engine is stock, but you never know anymore) you make be out of adjustment. Even you don't have adjustable rockers, they could still be out of whack.

Those are my first two guesses.

Slade

G

·
Discussion Starter #5
The knocking seems to be behind or just below the water pump area. It is not up high on the passenger side (exhaust manifold) nor up under the valve cover. It seems to be right around the water pump. Is there a timing chain cover there somewhere? Maybe the timing chain gears or chain are about ready to go... I dunno. I don't ever remember seein' a timing cover. Where's the timing cover at?

G

·
Discussion Starter #6