Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all
Recently put Edelbrock 650cfm AVS2 thunder series carb on, lot's of projects were being done on the car & hadn't started it in quite awhile. Now when I try & start her the engine is running crazy fast, like the gas pedal is stomped to the floor fast, way to fast for cold engine, afraid it will tear something up. I've adjusted screw on fast idle cam, adjusted choke back some, tried unplugging vacuum advance, I don't believe in have any massive vacuum leaks. I've even thought for some Reas maybe the ignition advance timing might be off & have tweaked the distributor slightly with no difference....I'm learning as I go with this car, I'm not a mechanical expert by any means. Any thoughts? I just want to get it to idle safely

·
Premium Member
6,065 Posts
Look down inside the carb and see if the throttle blades are completely closed. Make sure the accelerator spring is pulling the throttle closed, not open, and back off the HOT idle screw on the driver side if needed until they are, and when the choke is engaged the top butterfly should be just barely open but if you pull it open with your finger to look inside the throttle plates should be just barely open (not quite level) as well.

Reactions: absur1304

·
Registered
1967 Mustang Convertible
1,104 Posts
Had this happen when the accelerator pedal rod was not allowing the carb to close all the way. You can disconnect the accelerator pedal rod and see if still runs really high.

·
Registered
2,407 Posts
First thought is throttle linkage, so ditto on Vintage Ford Guy.
The way it's supposed to work:
Press the gas pedal, choke closes.
Turn the key, engine starts, choke opens 1/8".
If you have an electric choke, while the engine warms you hit the gas and the choke opens and idle slows until 190 degrees when the choke should be wide open.