Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I'm a newb to old mustangs. I've talked to a few people about this topic, but I'd still like to get input from all of you experts here. I may be purchasing a 66 mustang with the I6 engine in it. I also found that a friend has a 289 V8 from a 68 that I may be able to have for next to nothing. I was wondering about the implications of swapping out the I6 for the V8. I was told that the suspension probably won't be able to handle the increase, nor will the brakes. Any input anyone has is greatly appreciated.

~Gowrons

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
An interesting thought, although I may be able to get the engine for free, which would help.

Brings to mind another question: What is the going rate for a decent 66 mustang coupe-good mechanical, but in need of paint and interior work?

Thanks again

~Gowrons

·
Registered
3,595 Posts
You would have to replace the front spindles, other front end parts, tranny, driveshaft, entire rear end, etc, etc. My advice is buy what you want. Let somebody buy the I6 that appreciates it for what it is, and save yourself a lot of work and money. My prejudice is obvious. :)

·
Registered
123 Posts