Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
At 21 years old, I’m new to the Mustang world. Have always been a Chevy kid. But, I was given a 1964.5 mustang with a brand new 326hp 302 Crate engine; and I want to build it. I have the original C4 from the car and have yet to install it. I got a free AOD from a friend, I would like to install it into the car. Do you guys have pros and cons of leaving the c4 or adding the AOD? I’d like to run 3.55 rear gear in the stock 8” rear end.

Also any other help on the build is greatly appreciated. Thank you!!
7446E2AA-B918-4DAB-A761-AF1DBB78D1C5.jpeg

·
Dimples
4,647 Posts
Howdy and welcome! Looks like a fun project. I don't know much about the AOD swap, though it sounds cool. Most will say that 3.55's are the absolute ceiling for a C4 and I would agree if real world drivability is the priority. You can go steeper with the AOD.

The only suggestion I can make is to sell the C4 and AOD and put in a T5, lol.

·
Registered
2,935 Posts
the added gear that reduces engine rpms is nice to have to be sure. but it is up to you to decide if you dont mind the engine screaming while you drive a 70mph on the freeway.

the extra gear gives more flexibility to the car. that is why my stang will get an AOD when i get back to building it.

·
Registered
44 Posts
The AOD definately makes it more useful now that speeds are 70mph rather than 55mph when the car was built. You'll need a few more things like the trans bellhousing adapter plate if you don't have it; the AOD lever should be pointing UP I believe, if it isn't you can take the pan off an rotate it so that the linkage will be a push/pull, if it points DOWN you'd have to mock up a reverse leverage linkage, much easier to just flip it.

You'll need a TV cable and set it up properly so you don't burn up the trans in the first few seconds of starting it the first time. There should be threads on that.