Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I'm purchasing an '66 Mustang Convertible C code 289 V8 automatic sight unseen (not traveling due to covid and will have vehicle shipped cross country)

I've been dreaming of buying this exact car since I was a kid and couldn't be more excited. But this is my first classic car purchase and I'm a novice when it comes to anything mechanical. Any advice for vehicle due diligence that can be done remotely? What kind of questions should I be asking the seller to root out problems and major repair expenses?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Awesome. Congrats on finding your dream car. I too love the 65-66 Convertibles. I would definitely recommend having a qualified third party inspect and drive the vehicle. If they can send you videos, that would be great. With convertibles, I would particularly pay close attention to the floor pans and inner rockers for evidence of rust? Is the body all original or has any of its panels been replaced? I would look at the door gaps. Pull up the trunk matte. Have them put the car on a lift for a thorough inspection. How does the top frame look? Wide photographs can be deceiving, so be sure to request details. If the car has been restored, invoices and restoration photographs can go a long way to instilling confidence in a purchase. Best of luck!

·
Super Moderator
10,319 Posts
Welcome to the board!

I can't imagine buying a car without seeing it.

At least look into paying for an inspection from an independent company, familiar with Mustangs.

·
Spammer Hammer
10,382 Posts