Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of replaceing floors in my 71 Mach 1. I have never done this before and I have never welded before. I just removed what was left of the old floor pan by drilling spot welds and using a cutoff wheel along the tranny hump.

The replacement full length pan goes farther forward than the original pans into the toe board. Can I get a toe board for my car? Mine is rusted. Should I trim at the original toe board line and simulate spot welds there, or leave the extension and weld as high as possible on the toe board?

I also need metal for under the rear seat where the exhaust heat has caused it to rust. Where can I get that metal for a 71?

When using a MIG welder to put the pans in do I need to make sure all the undercarriage grease is cleaned away to avoid a fire, or will the MIG run cool enough? Where do I find the "weld-through" primer and what exactly does it do? Should I have the entire rocker panel and floor pan where they will be welded primed with weld-through before welding?

Anyone who can point me to good, experienced information I would love to hear from you.

Thanks,
Kcmash

kcmash
71 Mach1 Grabber Blue
97 Cobra Convertible

·
Registered
7,671 Posts
When using a MIG welder to put the pans in do I need to make sure all the undercarriage grease is cleaned away to avoid a fire, or will the MIG run cool enough? Where do I find the "weld-through" primer and what exactly does it do? Should I have the entire rocker panel and floor pan where they will be welded primed with weld-through before welding?