Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Local bodyshop has been holding a '68 fastback from a non-paying customer for quite some time now. He did the floor pan replacements and some of the body work before he figured out he wasn't being paid. Car is in primer with one outer wheel well needing attention before painting.

Underneath looks real good. Interior is very nice; deluxe version with consoles top and bottom. All stainless trim is present and in excellent condition. Bumpers probably need replacing. All glass is good.

All of this, and it happens to be a six cylinder with an automatic transmission.

The guy has threatened to sell it to recoup some of his money, and he has mentioned thinking he could get $4000 for it. I don't even know if he can sell it, since he doesn't have the title, but assuming he could, would $4000 be:

a) fair
b) a steal
c) ridiculously high for a six

Just thought I'd see if you all think this is something I should pursue.

Mark
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
384 Posts
If Missouri is like Texas, then he can only sell
it for no more than he has tied up in it. All
he's got to do is put a mechanic's lean on it
then he can sell it.

G/L, sparky!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,374 Posts
$4000.00 too much for a possible Eleanor?
He could probably get alot more
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,503 Posts
Yes he can apply for a mechanics lien. If they owner does not respond the shop can then own the car. $4000 sounds like a good price.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,838 Posts
Just a word of caution. You want to make SURE that he goes through the proper "abandonement" or "lien sale" paperwork with the state. If not, he has no legal right to sell that car and you could buy it, restore it, and have the previous LEGAL owner claim it. There are folks that specialize in these abandonement processes and will do one for about $400. Once that process is complete he can sell the car. It usually requires printing a legal notice in the paper for three weeks giving the owner the opportunity to pay. Have you thought about contacting the legal owner to see if he might want to sell you the car directly since he is going to lose it anyway? You might be able to work something out with the shop owner with a reduction in charges if you have title in-hand. Also, with the title in hand you could file a "replevin" which requires you to post a bond, remove the car, and the shop owner then must PROVE in a court of law that he met all legal requirements to a) hold the car, b) charge storage c) charge that correct amount. If he did not notify the owner of any pending or accruing storage charges, in many states he is barred from collecting them. In many instances, the shop owner will not even file papers to get the car back or get paid because their paperwork is so crappy.

Just laying out some additional options for rescuing a fastback from dusty shop corner hell.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top