Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Thank you Charles!! I have been shipping my stuff to California for last the 5 years ever since the local I had doing it won't do small stuff anymore. I am ordering some and will give it a try. Thanks again!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Armond: You'll be surprised how easy it is! Make sure you use a stainless steel pot. Get 2 of them, a large one (for things like hood hinges) and a smaller one for misc. small parts.

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
This is outstanding. I bought two bottles (1 zinc, 1 manganese) from Vern's leftover stock after he went out of business, it works great. Time to re-stock!

Carl

·
Registered
2,871 Posts
Sounds good.

Now, which do we need for Mustangs? Just the zinc or are there any manganese plated parts on our cars?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The regular zinc is fine for Mustang parts. The manganese is more of a charcoal finish.

·
Registered
665 Posts
Thanks Charles! I understood he had gone out of business and this stuff was NLA from him. BTW, Shooter's Roost lists the product, but if you try to order it they tell you they are only supplying the manganese now (because it is "better").

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
I recall meeting Vern many years ago at the Spring Auto Fair in Charlotte. He was selling his products and offering demos at his space. Very nice guy and fantastic results! When you consider he was doing his demo at a fold up table with noting more than, if I recall correctly, a propane heat source for the solution, it was amazing and simple! Thanks Charles for pointing out the Ebay listing!!

·
Registered
6,807 Posts