Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a guy up the street from me that has a nice looking 70 Mach1. It's just been sitting in his driveway for about a year now, and im starting to doubt he's going to do anything with it. Im wondering if i should go to the door and make an offer for the car, and if i do that how would i go about it? Im kinda new at this so any help would be appreciated!

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maybe you should sniff the air first just to make sure that the reason he has neglected his ride isn't something more serious ;)

·
Registered
330 Posts
I don't think knocking would be such a bad idea,if done right.
Maybe like ,Hey, I can't help but notice this fine car just sittin' here, Do you have a problem with it I could maybe help out with.
If there is a reason such as illness or worse,I would think a person would welcome keeping the car in the neighborhood, I know I would.
Just my opinion for what it's worth.

1965 Mustang coupe
1961 Thunderbird
1983 Monte Carlo Conv.
Yeah, thats right Convertible!!

·
Registered
3,894 Posts
I have a good friend that bought a 65' Shelby by approaching the owner who would not sell and sincerely offering to help him fix it up. Not buy it.

Several months later the guy called him up, not to ask for help but to tell him he appreciated the thought and asked if he wanted to buy it!

He did... (true story)

http://home.netcom.com/~jonescha/Photos/DCP_0355_178x109.jpg
"If you're under control you're not going fast enough"
Parnelli Jones
Try my website

·
Registered
2,217 Posts
I've done this many times. I haven't had anyone shoot at me yet....... (close once though......*G*).