Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I just brought home a complete engine from a 2000 Ford Exploder! The junkyard was having a sale so it was really cheap.

My original intention was to put the heads on my 1970 Mustang's original 302 (along with a cam swap), but now I'm wondering if I should cam the Explorer engine and use it instead. I am new at all of this and have a few questions:

Which combination would result in higher compression: GT40P heads on my flat tappet 302, or on the Explorer roller cam block?

How do I go about figuring out what length pushrods I need (assuming I stick to the stock Explorer rockers)? If I use the complete explorer engine I can obviously just reuse them unless I deck the heads, in which case I would need to get ones that are shorter by however much I had shaved off the heads (correct?)
What about the gt40p heads on my original block? How do I know what to use then?

How much of a benefit does the roller camshaft design have?

The sentimental idiot in me wants to keep my car's original block, but being rational about it, I don't want to leave significant hp or fuel economy on the table.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
19,969 Posts
By all means just throw that whole GT40P in! I'm running one in my 66. The stock cam isn't to bad but the Mustang 5.0 cam works very, very well in this motor. It's a far more effective cam in the GT40P then the old Mustang 5.0 simply do to the superior GT40P heads. Smooth idle, very broad power band that pulls to 6K very quickly. Replace the stock valve springs with a upgraded set. I was going to put a free E303 cam that someone gave me. Unfortunately it got wet at some point which is why I put a stock Mustang cam. I'm glad it worked out this way. The stock Mustang cam is staying. What is nice about the P head, it's very combustion efficient and needs only 30* total mechanical timing