Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a '65 mustang with a 289. The PO had put in hedman headers, but they scrape on everything. I am thinking of putting in shorties, any recommendations?

Also, I have never worked on headers before. Will I be able to do this on my own? Can I remove/install without haven't to put the car on a lift?

·
Registered
256 Posts
I just put JBA shorties on my 65 over the weekend. I used PN 1650. I bought them from a company on flea-bay. Cheapest price I could find $325 delivered (PM me if you can't find them). They were drop shipped directly from JBA. Not inexpensive, but they are the best shorties according to several on this forum.

JBA states you must use 66-70 style motor mounts. My car was a 6 cylinder prior, so I just bought the later style mounts anyway.

I didn't have any of the clearance issues to the shock towers others have commented on. The passenger side was on in less than 5 minutes. I couldn't get the drivers side on quick so quickly, but less than an hour for both.

I don't see any reason anybody couldn't do a header swap.

The only other thing I found installing these is that my speedo cable is VERY close to the collector on the dirivers side. After posting the question, and reading the answers I found it is a result of me using a T5 trans. Where the speedo cable goes into the trans is further back in the car than where it was located on the original 6 cylinder 3 speed. A longer cable woudl solve. For now, I have re routed it and clipped it to the inside of the frame rail.

Good luck,

·
Registered
4,209 Posts
Another way to go is Tri-Y's. Like shorties, the collectors tuck way up and don't have any clearance issues. Tri-Y's are probably the cheapest way to go. You can get Tri-Y's for under $150, although if you want them to look nice ceramic coating will more than double that price.