Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm taking the 66 to the dyno on saturday. Old guy, neighbor of my uncle who's been tuning cars all his life. He wants me to bring my Holley 600 CFM carb and my Summit 500 cfm carb and see which one is better. Since I've never done anything like this before is there anything I should be on the look out for? Anything I should ask for, printouts, etc.

Generally, what is the process and what should I expect. He has already asked me for all my engine build info, distributor info.

·
Premium Member
5,099 Posts
I recently took off a 600 Holley and put on the Summit 500 on my 289. I will be following.

·
Registered
1965 Ford Mustang fastback T5 Ncas 9in Locker
626 Posts
Yes on print outs and changes made between runs... have FUN.... do not be a dyno FAIL!

·
Registered
1967 Mustang Convertible
974 Posts
Ask for Air Fuel Ratio (AFR) reading to see if you are running lean or rich, can help tune later on. They will drive it in 4th gear since 1:1 and will rev it to what RPM you say, 6k or 5k up to you and give you the read out. Might want to test bumping up the timing down or up depending combination to see if it increases in power or not. Good Luck.

·
Registered
6,122 Posts