Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just had an idea.
I've been lurking here for a while, and have only posted enough to say hello so far.
My story is, I'm a newbie to cars in the last couple of years, but have been reading a lot of books and trying to help a friend do some resto work on his 71 mach 1. I'm hoping that by next summer, I will have a good enough knowledge base to be confident taking on my own restoration. That, and I hope by then I can actually afford to do it too (hope mortgage rates go back down again ::)

So, what I'd like to do, is play a pro/con on my future car, and hopefully learn a lot in the process.
Here's the rules:
1. We are building a 69/70 mach 1.
2. The car must be able to LOOK original, but does not necessarily have to BE original. I.e. a nice cd player that fits the stock space or a fancy aftermarket carb.
3. You must provide some reason for what you chose. How else am I supposed to understand why you picked it? :p

So, with the rules being laid down, let's get started.

Pick a short block for the 69/70 mach 1.

My goal here is to learn, so you may notice a few jargon flub ups and probably some points I just don't understand, so please feel free to correct me... but be nice: ::

Let the debate begin!

·
Gone but never forgetten
25,239 Posts
This is a hard game to play without a budget. If the budget is unlimited, get one that's already done ... you'll be thousands of $ ahead in the end.

Here's a couple points about '69/'70's that you may or may not be aware of:

Basically, there's NO easy way to put a decent stereo in them without modifications to the car. Second, EXTREMELY litle is reproduced. For example, watch e-hay for any fold down seat or interior parts. My '69 sportsroof was missing everything behind the seat and one of the fiberglass interior 1/4 panels was broken. I'll have spent well over $1000 for just the back seat alone when I'm done.