Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey this is my first time on this site.....thought I'd ask some expericed people about my car. I'm 18 and have had my 65 Mustang coupe for 2 years. My car needs a bit more get up and go. Right now its being pushed by a 289 2v. I'm planning on making it into a 347 stroker with 351w heads which I have already purchased from [censored]. One question is should I get aluminum heads over steel? I was just affraid they wouldnt hold up but Im a young guy and still learning. Also what size Carb would suit this new motor well? I was thinking a 670 holley street avenger. And finally and input on gears for the rear end? My acceleration......is lame. Just keep in mind its a daily driver.....not a drag car :). Tired of the rine rockets thinkin they are the only fast guys on the block :) Thanks for any input/suggestions

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
Do a search for every one of those questions, you'll find the answer here. By the way, welcome to the VMF!

·
Registered
4,092 Posts
Welcome to the VMF.
Sounds like you've got a lot of ambition!
I know I sure did when I was 18 ::

As for cylinder heads (and the 347 motor in general)....
You need to sit back and think about how much money you will be able to spend on the motor. Aluminum heads are nice (real nice) but are expensive.

Off hand, a 670 CFM carb would work very nicely on a stout 347 while providing reasonable milage. If you go with iron heads you're really going to have to keep an eye on your compression to prevent detonation. Strokers tend to increase the compression alot due to the extra cubes being crammed into the same sized combustion chamber. Here's where your cam choice and gears also become very important as they can help or hurt the situation.

Gears, what transmission are you going to use? A low set of gears will provide great accleration but poor milage and higher RPMs on the freeway if you don't have overdrive.