Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic, so bear with me. I just had my Holley 650 double pumper professionally rebuilt, and then dyno tuned for A/F and timing. When the car is sufficiently warm, my idle speed creeps up a couple hundred RPM and idles too high. At this warm state, if I turn the idle speed screw to the right, the idle speed increases, but to the left of the original point, there is no effect. I can't get it to idle lower at this adjustment. I don't want to mess with the A/F ratio or timing. Why does it creep up on me? Where else can I check?

Thanks,
Troy

·
Registered
4,963 Posts
You are right, do not mess with A/F or timing. Check to make sure the choke is not engaged. I bet it's sitting on the choke fast idle cam.
Dave

·
Premium Member
971 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It does have manual choke, and I though of that. I do have a little "binding" type feel when I push the choke all the way in, but when I check it under the hood, I can't force it open any further manually. I'll check with somebody who knows better how to adjust the manual choke....

·
Premium Member
13,094 Posts
If you can back off the idle screw all the way without any effect, then you are going to have to remove the carb & back off the adjustment screw for the secondary throttle plates a bit.

It is normal for your car to idle higher after it's warm. The normal idle speed should only be arrived at after the car in warmed up.

Z. Ray

·
Registered
42 Posts
go back to the shop that did the work and they can fix it with no problem i bet but if you start adjusting and then go back they may just tell you good luck.

·
Registered
218 Posts