Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
Newbie here. I need to do a DIY rack and pinion conversion on 69 Mustang.
Ive been searching through the site for the last couple of days but seems I cant grab anything solid.

I actually need to do a RHD conversion (please dont ask why, and dont tell me how good is LHD because the car MUST be converted to RHD before the registration). The car was originally exported from USA and now in a RHD only country. No exceptions ! Period :)

But for the moment I hope someone could atleast guide me through a good write up on the rack and pinion conversion (LHD at least so I can learn how its done where I should be careful) adapted from a readily available rack.

Dont wanna spend $$$$ on racks which are bolt on kits. I just want something adaptable and fabricate around it.

Cheers

·
Premium Member
9,650 Posts
Many before you have attempted to adapt an existing R&P, particularly the Pontiac Sunbird unit, to the early Mustang in order to save money. Every attempt that I am aware of was unsuccessful and eventually an aftermarket unit was purchased. I'm sure if anybody had been successful this forum would be proliferated with threads about it, much like threads regarding EPAS adaptations.

·
Registered
8,426 Posts
We did a couple of R&P conversions back in the day long before there were any "kits," but
nothing right hand drive. We did one on a Boss 302 that was super slick that incorporated
the rack in the #2 crossmember and looked factory stock. It was fantastically expensive.
They are a pain in the neck to do correctly, just for LHD, without even getting into what you're
trying to accomplish.
If I was capable of doing it, I wouldn't be on VMF giving free advice. I'd be charging the
significant dollars such a job is worth to Do It For You.

ex-Global West GM
1991-1995

·
Registered
4,855 Posts
i more impressed that some one was able to convert it to RHD

wow.

·
Registered