Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm having a heck of a time stopping a weepy brake fluid leak on my 65 convertible. I am just finishing a total restoration, and as part of that, I got a new master cylinder for the factory power brakes. The reproduction master cylinders have two ports on the front, one with a flare-fitting seat, the other with a pipe-thread style opening, no seat. Obviously, the line has to go into the one with the seat, and that seals fine. The other however is where I am getting a leak from. The MC came with a small plug for this port, but no matter how tightly I put that in, a drop of brake fluid will form after a day or two. Despite reading lots of information to the contrary, it looks like a thread sealant is absolutely necessary in this case. I tried some PTFE tape, which did very much slow down the leak, but not completely. Now it's maybe one drop per week. Plenty to mess up my lovely engine-compartment paint if I can't stop it. Has anyone else had this issue, and what is safe and effective to use to seal out brake fluid leaks. I'm tempted to try something like "Right Stuff", but seems like brake fluid can find its way through about anything.

I'm assuming this port exists for cars that have a brake switch mounted on the MC, but it's beneath the line fitting. If my memory serves, the originals with that setup had the switch on top, no?

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
4,982 Posts
If it is NPT then you could use some ptfe thread sealer the type in the tube not thread tape. Apply to the male threads only and It will help lube the threads so you can get it tight enough to stop leaking.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter #3