Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today driving through Irvine in Southern California it was around 85 degrees. I was driving my 65 mustang and the temp stayed around 210 (averaged that) going 80-90 mph. Does this seem a little too hot? This is with the heater on full blast to try and keep the temp down.

My engine is a mild 302, with low compression, iron heads, Hedman long tube headers, a 3+ row HD radiator, 16 inch flex fan, thick shroud, and I run 50/50 coolant/water. I have my timing at 12 degrees, but even at 6 degrees it runs hot. I have a 160 degree high flow thermostat. I also have an oil cooler mounted to the front lower portion of the radiator. And a 13# radiator cap.

My car get hot idling, today it got nearly to 230 with minor stop and go traffic, and this isnt the first time its done this, just now im getting concerned. I have tried the additives to help cool it, forget the name, but that really didnt work. Some friends tell me to try and run a 180 tstat to keep the water in the radiator longer, thus cooling it more, but I dont see how that would work.

What do you guys think? I only have 10,000 miles on this engine and its only bored 30 over. Its a new water pump with the engine too. Also its a new external temp gauge, to I know its telling me the truth. Thanks for you help!!!

·
Registered
359 Posts
Your setup sounds pretty good. How confident are you that the radiator is clear of debris?

A couple of things you could try:
• Replace the flex fan with a stock fan. This will probably move more air.
• Run more water than antifreeze -- water is the best heat transfer agent. Antifreeze reduces the ability of the water to carry away heat from the engine.
• Your thermostat may not be opening all the way, leading to restriction and not enough water flow.

·
Registered
699 Posts
You didn't say how old your radiator was?