Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to both "Mustang'ing"... AND Texas. I've seen some vintage mustangs on the road around here with black and white vintage Texas license plates. I just think they're really cool.

I'm wondering where I can find some 1966 TX plates for my car, and how one goes about getting them registered? What kind of hoops are there to jump through?

Thanks!
George

·
Registered
506 Posts
I was told a lil while back to go to the Yellow Rose show in Ft Worth this coming weekend, there is supposed to be a guy there that sells the plates and authentic inspection stickers you can put on your car when you use the old plates...very cool! ::

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
I just looked into using old plates. you will have to get your plates (from a swapmeet or someplace) that are correct for your year of car. Then you will need to contact the Highway dept-special plates dept...512-374-5010. they have an application & fee ($15). They will also want to inspect the plates to make sure they are OK. they can tell you the nearest place to get them inspected. As long as the plate numbers are not being used elswhere, you should be able to use them. I got the phone number from the local tax assesor here in Hays Co. You may have a local number that you can use if you contact the tax assesor for your county. I saw several vendors with vintage plates at the fredricksburg swap meet for an average price of 20-25 dollars.I did not buy any for my car as the 1970 plates are pretty ugly IMHO, but they are a perfect match for grabber blue cars-just wouldn't look good on a gold car. good luck. tp.

·
Registered
792 Posts