Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here so be gentle please.

I need guidance on how early a VIN number is. The VIN is from a 64.5 and ends in ...111084

It came from a hardtop delivered the evening of 4/16/64. I have seen all docos including the original invoice and spoke with the original owner to verify. I am considering the car for a resto and need to know whether it would have any added value because the VIN is very early.

I know how to decode the VIN so no worries there. I just want to know how early in the 64.5 run this car falls.

All responses welcome...

emoore924

·
Banned
5,578 Posts
Just over the 11000th made.... I don't think I understand your question fully. They started building Mustangs in early March, and this one was built in mid-April. 1965 production began in August.

I don't think it would be more valuable than your average 64.5 because of this VIN.

Steve

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick response.

I probably misunderstand this, but according to the decoders I looked at, the VIN number tells you what number car, *any* car, it was out of a particular facility -- in this case Dearborn. So, for all the cars produced in Dearborn (Falcons, Mustangs and whatever else they were making...) this car is the 11084th one off the line since the beginning of the 64 run. However, because they were making cars other than mustangs, the VIN's were comingled with those of other car models.

So..., while this might be the 11084th car off the Dearborn line, it could be the 132nd mustang because there was a gajillion falcons that went off in front of it, or something like that...that's why I was wondering if this was a really early car.

I already found one on that had an earlier VIN#, so that leads me to believe that this is nothing special.

Still clueless /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

emoore924

·