Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 65 FB that has Shelby style rear quarter windows installed. I would prefer to go back to the stock vents, is that possible? What is done to install them and what would it take to go back? Thanks for any help you can provide.

·
Registered
560 Posts
it might be a small project, I imaging you should have to weld some sheet metal or something in place of the window, to bolt on the vents. then you need to get new inside the car panels, which would cover up the hole from the windows.

I am not a professional, so if my info is off, sorry :p

·
Registered
632 Posts
Your probably going to have to find another 1965/1966 2+2 and remove the inner Vent structure and fit and weld it into your Mustang. Pictured below is what your missing.

Marty.

·
Registered
2,655 Posts
I'm glad to see that someone wants to put the vents back in. That looks so much better and is cooler than the windows.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the info

Thanks, I was hoping the outer metal didn't get cut. Now on to the challenge of finding someone with a FB to cut up! If anyone has installed the windows and wants to sell the structure they cut out please let me know.

·
Registered
353 Posts
I'm glad to see that someone wants to put the vents back in. That looks so much better and is cooler than the windows.
While I can understand why someone would want their car original, I personally think the windows look much better than the vents...

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Hey Torino, since the piece will not be visible when you are done and all you are looking for is to have the mechanical strength for your vents, I would simply fab up a new piece with the holes in the right place.

Or, perhaps you could offer someone your windows in trade for that piece that they would need to cut out?

·
Premium Member
13,180 Posts