Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
  1. I would like to remove my 1 barrel carb and put a 2 barrel carb on my 65 mustang with an inline 6. I am really new to wrenching on these vehicles, but dont want to pay to have it done. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
To put a 2 barrel on the I6 you're going to need an adapter. Probably something like this.

You're probably also going to need to modify the gas pedal linkage and figure out what to do with the PCV, gas, and distributor advance lines.

If you're still running the original distributor you'll need to swap it out or try to find a 2 barrel that has a spark control valve. The original carb and distributor are a matched set and won't run right without each other.

There's some good info over here that might help.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Is your head original? If you have a head from late '69 on, your adapter would be different from the early head's.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Yea its a bigger job than just simply swapping the carbs. There is a lot of good info on vintage inlines, I'd suggest doing the 32/36 swap. I am about to do one on my 200 as well.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
  1. I would like to remove my 1 barrel carb and put a 2 barrel carb on my 65 mustang with an inline 6. I am really new to wrenching on these vehicles, but dont want to pay to have it done. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Thanks for your info. Regarding the distributor, I have removed the points and condenser and replaced it with petronix electronic ignition. Is tha what you're talking about? Can you be more detailed on the PC and gas linkage? Thanks.

·
Registered
19 Posts