Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a freshman in highschool and I've been searching for a classic mustang to restore for a while. On my way to school my bus passes by a house that has a mustang sitting on a trailer (I think it's from 65-66). How would I approach the owners of this car to ask if they would sell it? Anyone have any experience with this?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
556 Posts
I put a note on the windshield once with my phone number. The guy texted me back after one day. Unfortunately the car was not for sale.

·
Registered
2,548 Posts
you shouldn't

Tango, as a classic Mustang owner, I would recommend that you don't. when my car was visible, it was NOT for sale, there was nothing to suggest it was, yet people would constantly come up to the house and ask if they could buy it. I usually just said no. Some folks persist and want to play 'name your price', I said 50K . Some offered 500 to 1K, because 'thats all its worth' to them. I told them good luck with their search.

I would look for cars that are for sale if I were you. Ford made hundreds of thousands of them. there has to be some for sale near you. LSG

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
I've had 3 different 65 mustangs over the past 35 years and not once has a person asked if one of them was for sale. I say just simply stop by and ask, even if its not for sale some people like to talk cars and you might get a lead on another. I sort of think any person who would get uptight over a teenager showing interest in a classic car by asking if its for sale should seek therapy.

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
I would simply knock on the door and introduce myself, tell them how you found them, and tell them you like classic mustangs and ask if you could ask questions about the Mustang. Eventually it will lead to whether it is for sale or not and if it not for sale, they may lead you to another...

Let us know how it goes.

·