Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 176 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok I’m going to try and make this very loaded question alittle less loaded.

Right now I’m a college student on a hard budget. Makes things difficult. I’ve heard so many say they wish they dropped the cash on this or that instead of cheaping out. I want to know where I can cheap out and where I can’t. Yeah mostly opinions but I want to hear what you guys have to say.

As a disclaimer I already know I’m spending some money on safety mods like front discs and 3 point belts.

I have a 1970 mustang, 5.0 ho engine out of a 1991 thunderbird (80k miles), C4 trans(no idea if it’s good), and a 8 inch diff (probably the stock gears)
Oh and stock driveshaft.
And all this is just sitting out of the car don’t know if anything works or even if the engine runs.

Placing priority on these mechanical aspects what would you do in my situation to have a fun daily driver on a budget?

·
Registered
4,182 Posts
5.0 ho engine out of a 1991 firebird (80k miles)?????

Reactions: Jr_Palm

·
Registered
4,182 Posts
If your a college student on a budget run away from this mustang as it will be a huge money pit! Buy a used Fiesta or the like, get a degree and a job and buy one restored.

·
Premium Member
68 Mustang Coupe
3,290 Posts
Putting a GM engine in a mustang is going to be a money pit. You'll need an adapter or a new tranny. Find a 5.0 out of a ford and youll be much better moneywise.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
If your a college student on a budget run away from this mustang as it will be a huge money pit! Buy a used Fiesta or the like, get a degree and a job and buy one restored.
Well it’s not as tight as it sounds i I have access to tools and equipment and have ALOT of time on my hands and I absolutely refuse to buy a car restored or otherwise mentioned fiesta...

Also I am getting a degree, hence me college student. Engineering at that. ;)