Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1968 coupe, 1968 vert, 1966 coupe
759 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m buying a bunch of NOS parts this week locally and I plan on using what I need for my projects and selling the rest. My question is are there differences in parts between the years how to I determine what year doors, hoods, trunk lids and fenders are from are there differences?

·
Registered
11 Posts
I read somewhere that most panels and parts have stampings on them. I went over my 69 Mach 1 and found these on fenders, frame rails, sills, roof inner frame and many more places. An example is 10 26 C3, from memory, on a front frame rail. I understand that means it was produced on October 26th and C3 represents the factory and shift I think. Not sure if there is anything to say the year but my car is a December 68 build and most parts are stamped in November or very early December, so that makes sense to me for my build date. I’m by no means an expert. I’m sure people here know much more about it.

·
Premium Member
759 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Most of us here can look at a fender, hood, door, etc and tell you which year model it is.
Awesome I’ll look for the date stamps and if I have any questions I’ll post pictures I’m still learning after all these years of building mustangs!

·
Registered
12,196 Posts
If you can find a part number, the first 2 characters may tell you the date.. C7 for example corresponds to 67. C8 is 68. D7 is 77, D8 is 78. As far as I remember, at least.

·
Just some guy
67 coupe, 69 Sportsroof, 86 hatchback
20,657 Posts