Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you tell the difference between a fake 1965/1966 shelby and a real shelby GT350. There is this kid in my dorm that has been promised his grandfather's or father's GT350 if he gets good grades. This is a NICE car. I don't really care because I have my car and I like it, but it just kind of makes me sick. I've worked hard for my car, but at least I appreciate it. Sorry, I shouldn't be complaining...

·
Registered
5,583 Posts
There will allways be kids like that, and as you get older adults the same. You will go through life learning to appreciate what you have worked for and they will not. When you add it up in the long run you will be ahead of them. It may not seem that way now but trust me on this one.

Mark

·
Registered
389 Posts
I'm no expert, but I know of a few characteristics. Shelby's had their own factory tag in addition to the Ford VIN/warranty tag. It should definately have a K as the fifth digit in the VIN. On 65s the upper control arms will be mounted in holes 1 inch below the stock holes. Also, all Shelbys are in the Shelby registry, but someone else will have to advise you on how one would check that.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ypu can buy those shelby tags that go in the engine compartment. Same with the 1'' drop.

One thing you cant legally fake is the K in the VIN. Grantid, he could have a K-code mustang that he turned into a clone, but what a waste of a K-code that would be.

·
Registered
437 Posts
This is no way to tell the difference between a well done fake and real shelby except to contact Howard Pardee who does the registration for the early shelbys (65-66) you will need to give him the Ford vin and the Shelby vin.

You can rule it out, however, as being a real if the assembly plant code is not an "R", and the engine code is not a "K".

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6