Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I hope someone can help me out with this or head me the in right direction. I have a 1965 Mustang Fastack with a T-5 mounted to a T-5 Bellhousing behind a 289ci small block. I have a CNC master cylinder and a Mcleod internal throwout bearing from modern driveline part #MD-514-1400-30. Ok now that you know what I am working with here is the problem. We have bleed the system a 4 times and we still can't get the hyd throwout bearing to work. We start up the car and can't get it into gear also there doesnt seem to be any pressure on the petal when I try to engage the clutch. We have gone back and checked all the measurements so I know thats not it and we have bleed the system.

Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be? Could it just be a bad CNC master cylinder or could the mcleod throwout bearing be bad? Is there anyway to test each one to see if it is bad? I really don't want to have to take this whole thing back apart.

Any help will be great!

·
I won a special award
7,409 Posts
You have the correct amount of play between the face of the throwout bearing and and the fingers on the pressure plate? Do you have the bleeder line on the throwout bearing coming out the top of the bearing? If not, you can't bleed it.

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
Have you checked in with Modern Driveline yet?

·
Registered
767 Posts
Ditto on rooeng's post. I spent a good while trying to bleed mine because I didn't take out the pedal stop (the one closer to the driver, upon which the pedal rests when you're not on the clutch). Without getting full "up" travel, it won't bleed.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #7