Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys - Is there a way to tell if a motor has a Mechanical vs. Hydraulic Cam without tearing the motor apart? I purchased a 1967 Mustang w/351 Windsor in 2021. The engine was built a few owners ago. I contacted him and he cannot remember. I've done a fair amount of work on cars through the years, but I am by no means a professional and don't have a lot of knowledge with motor building. I'm just a car/mustang enthusiasts and typically can figure out how to get whatever I need done by researching online and with help from people like yourselves.

Having said that, the reason I ask about the Cam is I believe I may have a bad seal on one or more of the valve springs. I have blue smoke at startup but then it goes away once the oil is burnt off. I do not get any blue smoke while driving, its just at Startup. So I am thinking the oil is getting into the cylinder walls through a bad valve spring seal. Compression checks were good, so I believe my rings are still good. I will need to adjust the valves once I go to put everything back together. Apparently I need to know if I have a Mech or Hyd cam in order to do that.

The motor has Jim Miller Mid-Lift Roller Rockers.

I contacted him/the company asking about adjusting the valves and he was not very much help. He seemed a little annoyed as I think he deals mostly with Professional builders and I did not have the knowledge to answer his questions. I did a little research online and it seems these were a very good quality roller/rocker setup and the guy who made them was respected. Does anyone have any knowledge on these specific roller rockers on how to property adjust? Or can I just follow any Mid Lift Roller Rocker adjustment tutorial?

Attached is a couple photos of the Roller Rockers. It has Canfield Aluminum Heads.

Any help here is greatly appreciated guys. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,070 Posts