Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about swapping my I6 for the 289 4spd. I have read conflicting posts all over the web about what needs to be done to the car before the swap....some posts say the suspension needs to be completely redone and others have said you can you use majority of the original parts...I am just wondering about how much work I am getting into being in that I am a noob for this stuff. I want to do it right so that's why I am asking all you senior members for some advice :smile2: Thanks again for all of your help.

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
Well, basically, You need a whole V8 Drivetrain.... V8 Engine, V8 Front Springs, V8 Front Spindles, V8 Rear end....and so on....plus you have to make a decision to go with the Original Drum brake which might be cheap...but if you are rebuilding the Front End, You might as well put Disc Brakes while you are there...kind of stupid not to while everything is apart... The best/most cost effective way to do all this is buy a V8 Donor car with a good tranny and drivetrain...and swap over everything....If the donor car is rusty, who cares...as long as the drivetrain is decent... Most gearheads would probably choose to upgrade most parts such as the Front end, rear end, Upgraded Disc Brakes and install tranny shift kits if using a C4 Automatic and so on mostly with modern components while everything is already apart... or as I said just buy a Donor car, keep everything somewhat original and do the "Swap"..

It all depends what you want.....but warning...once you go down that rabbit hole, There is no going back...and your car will be laid up for a year or more in most cases..

:eek:)

Tony K.

·
Registered
4,862 Posts
The 6 cylinder suspension, rear end and brakes are lighter duty then the V8 parts, so while they don’t have to be changed to physically swap the engine, they should be for safety and reliability.