Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm a newbie mustang owner. Just bought a very well-kept '66 High Country Special and just love the thing. Take it for a drive virtually every day, you know, to the post office, to the bank, to the market...etc.

So, the wife and I decided to go out to dinner last night and we take the stang. Unfortunately the restaurent we want to go to is closed, but I pull up to check the hours for the next time.

Get back in the car, and as I'm pulling away, I completely forget that theres a curb right in front of the left side of the car.

It's a little peninsula, and I'm very close to the end of it, so I pop-up on the front right wheel, and as I'm coming down the front, I hear a nasty scraping sound before popping up on the right rear wheel, and then I'm back on flat land again.

Sick feeling in my stomach and I think, "What have I done??".

Well, I lean out the door afraid of what I might see underneath and really only see a bit of a scrape and dent in the left side main frame rail. So, we go off to dinner and I figure I'll check it out further when we get home. On the way to the restaurant, it seems to drive normally....you know, nice and spunky.

Once at home, I look more closely, and it appears the only damage is to that frame rail. It's scraped and dented, but that's all I can see.

Do I need to be concerned about this? Should I put it on the ramps and take a closer look? No (new) fluid leaks have shown up. Am I just being a paranoid weany??

Thanks for your insights.

Bruce

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
Its not clear what you damaged. Mustang has no frame rails but has subframes. Of these, there are front and rear, drivers side and passenger. Best bet is to have someone knowledgeable look at it to determine the extent of damage. Chances are there's no serious damage but its just a guess. Better to have someone qualified take a good look.

·
Banned
5,578 Posts