Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are there any upholsterors out there? I am installing the top and plastic rear window on my 1966 Mustang convertible and am having one whale of a time trying to get the rear quarters to look right. Yea I know. should have taken it to a pro. Well, that's true but the amount of money they are asking/demanding for labor is outrageous so here I am. I studied everything I could get my hands on for six months before starting this project but have not come across much on how to get the top stapled properly so as to give a smooth fit and finish. I will try to post a couple of photos after I type this to show everyone what I am dealing with.
There has to be an answer as to how to fix this properly other than to just say take it to a pro. Any thoughts other than that out there? from your own experience?
Thanks,
Johnnie

Attachments

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
I am trying to copy your photos so that I can mark on them to give you two ideas. Meanwhile, did you put pads across the frame members, these pads are usually located at the curve of the top.

By the way, I am not an upholsterer, and have only put three tops on in my life.

·
Registered
Current cars include 1969 Mach 1 and 1970 Cougar XR7 convertible
8,655 Posts
Have you contacted dalorzo_f ? He has amassed a considerable body of useful knowledge on the installation of these tops.

He's a member here but hails from down under.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·