Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
Moving forward with my GT40P swap. I'm installing an E303 cam in my 1999 Ford Explorer engine. The cam did not come with an information sheet. I purchased Crane spring kit 44308-1. The spring kit says installed height of 1.950. On ford's performance website on the E303 cam, it says installed spring height of 1.820. This is my first time doing a job like this. I'm assuming I need to use the 1.820 height since that's what the actual cam lists?

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Not enough information.........Did ford list actual spring pressure rating for the cam? Open and on seat pressure? Did the crane spring kit match this rating for the cam? If the spring kit did match I would use the crane specs installed height to match their spring specs. Don't know the lift for this cam, be sure to check for coil bind at full lift, another reason to install at crane specs.

·
Registered
33,912 Posts
Installed valve spring height isn't dependent at all on the camshaft but on the cylinder head(s), valves and valve retainers used. Valve spring compressed height (coil bind) is important to the camshaft specs. Per the instructions, with stock heads and valves I would use what they have specified: - Recom’d installed spring pressure and height (valve closed)-------------118 lbs. @ 1.950” - Open checking pressure and height ---------------------------------------------375 lbs. @ 1.380” - Maximum recommended valve lift and RPM ----------------------------------.560” - 6500 RPM

·
Registered
2,548 Posts