Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am looking for insight from those of you who are under 25 and drive V-8 Vintage Stangs. What insurance company are you with and how much do you pay per year? Are you still a part of your parents policy? I am, and currently pay $2200 a year to insure my 1992 AWD Turbo Eagle Talon. The insurance company (Hartford) seems to be balking a bit about the Mustang. In addition, I recently had an accident (rear-ended someone, pretty serious damage). Is it possible they will not insure me on a stang because of the accident? BTW, I've been driving for 3 years (19).

What about those classic car insurance places? Will they insure me?

I am looking to get a 65-66 fastback or 69-70 Mach. We are currently restoring a 67 fastback, but it will be my brothers when it is done (pending insurance...)

Thanks for any advice...
Brandon

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know how you feel. To be honest, most insurance companies won't insure a vintage Stang, and if they do, it will cost some bucks. I'm 34 and I just insured my 64.5 with Nationwide and it's 'gonna cost me 1,000 per year. and I have no accidents or tickets.
The classic car insurers usually require the driver to be at least 21, some even 25. More than likely, due to your unfortunate accident a classic car insurer won't accept you. Keep looking and you'll probably find something. Did you try any other insurance companies other than your parents? Or try to get a policy through thier insurer in your name? IMHO, it's almost age discrimination. Good luck.

·
Registered
422 Posts