Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 66, 289, holley 4v street avenger, a/t and am looking for a new intake. Wich of these are the best match for me or any suggestions? I have a pretty stock eng and will I have to use the 1 inch Ford spacer? Edelbrock performer EDL-2121, Holley Street Dominator HLY-300-39, or Weiand action plus WND-8011.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
I have a Performer and it works well. I have read that some think it's only marginally better than a factory 4V. (I swapped from a 2V so I can't comment in this regard.) The Street Dominator is a very old design... and not a very good one at that. I have no experience with the Action Plus. All that said, I have read a number of times that the Performer RPM and Weiand Stealth, being newer designs, not only have more top end, but actually perform better at low rpms than the older Performer design. If ever you anticipate more power mods (new cam, for instance) you may want to plan for that now.

- Gord

·
Registered
4,926 Posts
Weiand Stealth or Edelbrock Performer RPM air gap. With the air gap, it sits up higher so you probably could not use a one inch carb spacer due to hood clearance. Something to check.

good luck.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
I have a 66, 289, holley 4v street avenger, a/t and am looking for a new intake. Wich of these are the best match for me or any suggestions? I have a pretty stock eng and will I have to use the 1 inch Ford spacer? Edelbrock performer EDL-2121, Holley Street Dominator HLY-300-39, or Weiand action plus WND-8011.
Hmm...
You already have a 4 barrel carb, what intake are you currently running and why do you want to change it?

Given minimal information (pretty stock eng, a/t) without insight to gearing, cam, heads, exhaust, and planned improvements makes it really hard to give a specific recommendation, so I will deal in generalities...