Vintage Mustang Forums banner

Interpreting rear-end noise

953 37
I have zero experience working on rear ends - never had an issue to repair- but I think I’m about to learn, and was hoping you folks might have some advice based on what I’m seeing and hearing, to get me started in the right direction.

I’m getting a relatively loud thrumming out of the rear end at any speed above about 20 mph. It doesn’t sound like the even roar or a wheel bearing, and definitely has a beat.

When I’m accelerating or climbing, it has one tone. When I am decelerating or coming down hill, it has a very different tone. The tempo of the beat (at a given speed) is the same either way, but the pitch or tone is different. When I’m on flat ground and maintaining speed, I can find a spot in the throttle where the sound goes away altogether.

When I started working on it again, after sitting for 10 years, I saw that the pinion seal had puked on the floor. When I topped it up, it only took about 3 oz of gear oil, so it didn’t leak a lot, but there is at least a slow leak at the pinion. Also, I have not greased the u-joints yet either.

I’m thinking it’s probably the pinion gear floating in place, but don’t know rear ends enough to be sure. I’m thinking my first step is to grease the u-joints, drop the rear of the driveshaft, and learn how to replace that pinion gear and reset its tension.

Thought/inputs/cautions?
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
There's so many things that could be causing that noise, from a bad axle bearing, to a loose pinion bearing, dry U-joint... start with checking your U-joints, its the easiest. They should have zero play and should be tight in the yoke. If you lost the front pinion seal, you may have loosened up the pinion yoke nut causing the pinion preload to vanish. Those sounds are similar to what you would hear if your pinion preload is too loose.

·
Registered
1969 Mach 1 Restomod
613 Posts