Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, let me introduce myself. I'm a newbie to this forum even though I've been lurking for a while. I've been a mustang fan since I was 13. My first car (in 1992) was a '76 Mustang Cobra II (Blue w/white stripes a decals). Loved that car, even though it had a pinto chassis and a 140hp V8. But now I'm all grown up (26 ;)) and have a place of my own and more importantly a garage of my own. Which I recently filled with a stipped down 66 A-Code Fastback GT and boxes full of parts.

I'm skipping the fanfare "yea, I finally got my stripped down A-Code '66 Fastback" kind of stuff and would like to jump straight to the meat. I know veryifing a cars GT'ness is a bit difficult when it comes to 65's and 66's. But it's got all the indications it is from what I've read and found SEARCHING this site. (A-code, radiator support holes, dual exhaust supprts, foglight switch hole, etc)

This is the first problem: I don't know what kind of steering was originally in this car. BUT, I do have a steering box in my parts pile that looks almost brand new. I think I might try to build whatever steering matches this box.

The problem is, when I search, I find a lot of conflicting information. Certain posts seem indicate it's a manual steering box, others seem to indicate it's a box used with power steering. Some retail sites don't even list the difference. Here are the long awaited questions:

Can someone please, once and for all, tell me what this is and it's application:

C6ZR-3550A (74A marked near output shaft)
Tag:
SMB-B
7B 13 C

---- Just so I don't get flamed for asking a seemingly obvious question this is what I found out so far:
SMB-B = 16:1 ratio, 41 7/8" IS, 1" SS
So, I know it's a quick ratio box, but I from the searches I performed the SMB codes seem more likely to be used on early model 67s. So was this box used on 66 GTs, if so was it p/s or m/s.