Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a problem with putting a power booster on a non-power booster '65 mustang? I know that I will have to make new brake lines to reach the reservoir but is that all?

Also, what is a fair price to pay for a remanufactured one from an auto parts retailer?

Thanks,
Ron

·
Registered
4,926 Posts
I have read that if you put a power brake booster on a 65, the master cylinder hits up against the shock tower brace. I have no personal experience on that, however. There is a company, that advertises regularly in the classic mustang magazines which makes a slim style booster unit to deal with just this problem. The other thing which is crictical is to check if you need to change our brake pedal. There may a difference in the way the rod connects to the pedal when it is a pb booster set up. This changes the angle of the rod, where it connects to the pedal. If you step on the brake pedal it puts the rod through the diaghram in the booster unit and you've just kissed off $300 or so. I know this is the case on the 69 and 70 cars. Different pedal for power brakes. I could research this for you, but it would have to be another day as I am tired and would probably make a mistake tonight. You will need a check valve on the booster unit and a vacuum fitting on your intake for the large diameter vacuum line to the booster unit. You may need a different dist. block, don't know. It is different on the 70, as well as having a different brake system warning light switch. HOwever, I don't believe the 65s are equipped with that switch. AT least mine is not so equipped. My 70 was a 4 wheel non-power brake car and I put 4 wheel power disc brakes in it. I think the going rate for a booster unit is $300 or so, and the original style is hard to find. Midland made boosters are even more expensive. good luck. It is not too difficult a job once you have the right parts together.

·
Banned
4,577 Posts