Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am fairly new to the classic mustang world, and I am looking at a 68 deluxe coupe, with A/C, signal hood, PS, console, roof console, in excellent unrestored shape, ready for this? IT's an inline 6. I know that's a downgrade, but it only has around 60k miles, is numbers matching. Is $5k a good or bad deal??? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,109 Posts
rust is the major determining factor on price, coupes are worth far less than convertibles and fastbacks and the 6 cylinders has not only a smaller engine be 4 lug wheels and a light duty syspension. $5,000 sounds high to me. I would expect virtually no rust and decent running for that price. If you want a v8 don't buy a 6. In the long run it will cost more. It is a wel optioned car. It might make a nice daily driver. decent gas milage.

·
Registered
1,662 Posts
The part of the country you're in has a major influence. Rust free cars in the rust belt tend to bring high prices. Carefully evaluate your mental state about having a sporty car with an I6. You will have to push it hard to keep up with traffic.

·
Registered
109 Posts
The previous post is right. For an inline 6 coupe, it should be almost perfect. Ask about any rust repair, then get a refrigerator magnet from your dentist or doctor's office about the size of a credit card.

Walk around the car and stick the magnet on different parts of the car. Most probable areas for repaired rust would just behind both front and rear tires. It should stick everywhere unless there was a bondo type repair. A metal type repair couldn't be found in this method, but it probably will be just about as good as real metal anyways.