Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How’s it going I’ve never used a forum before but I have an issue going on with my 1967 mustang, it has a 351w in it and I’ve had issues with it shutting off while under acceleration. I’ll stumble and seems to lose electrical power. I had a 750 Holley on it when this issue started, I already had purchased a Holley sniper EFI kit for it, I thought it was the fuel pressure dropping with my old pump for the carb but after installing the EFI system it still does the same issue. Can it be the kill switch or starter solenoid? Or what else can it be? Thank you for any help I can get.

·
Premium Member
6,317 Posts
Loose battery cable, loose ground or connection at the coil or distributor, loose ignition switch components...time to start it and walk around wiggling stuff in the car.

·
Just some guy
67 coupe, 69 Sportsroof, 86 hatchback
21,482 Posts
I'd start with looking to see if it had ignition spark when it quit. Tough if it starts right back up again. Most spark checkers are short and meant to be used while you are under the hood with them. Does it just die and stay dead or does it crank right back up again?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Loose battery cable, loose ground or connection at the coil or distributor, loose ignition switch components...time to start it and walk around wiggling stuff in the car.

Ok and also my bad heard a sparking noise over by the starter I need to check that area too and see what that noise was.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·